A FeIIow is a Society member recognised by the Society as having made a truly significant contribution to the Society and its aims and objectives. Such contributions include significant involvement and publication record in the Society’s events like conferences and workshops, sustainable initiatives to the scientific or professional development of the Society, special commitment to its organisation, or strong contributions to key issues of the Society’s research or educational objectives.  The grade of Fellow is reserved for Full Members of the Society.  Eligible nominees must have been fully-paid Full Members for at least 6 years.

List of Fellows

Listed in alphabetical order

Armand Hatchuel
Fellow (2015)

Ecole des Mines de Paris
Armand Hatchuel has contributed to the development of Design Theory - his works on C-K Design Theory, on Forcing or on the ontology of Design have provided clear foundations for a Design-based paradigm in Science and Engineering. Armand is founding member and the first chairman (with Yoram Reich) of the Design Society Special Interest Group (SIG) on design Theory. He is a member of the French Academy of Technologies.
Udo Lindemann
Fellow (2015)

Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, TU Munich
Udo Lindemann has contributed to the development of theory and methods in Product Development. Udo is a founding member of the Design Society. He has served on the Advisory Board and the Board of Management. As President and member of several ICED Programme Committees he contributed to the development of the Design Society. He is a member of the German Academy of Science and Engineering.
Christopher McMahon
Fellow (2015)

Mechanical Engineering, Technical University of Denmark
Chris McMahon's research spans from the early days of CAD/CAM development where he contributed at the forefront to contemporary research in knowledge management in design and product design. Chris is a founding member of the Design Society. He served on the Advisory Board and the Board of Management and was President of the Design Society from 2009 - 2013.
Christian Weber
Fellow (2015)

Engineering Design, Technical University Ilmenau
Christian Weber's research interests are Design Theory and Methodology (DTM), computer support in product development (CAx), and methods for the development of mechatronic systems. He was founding member of the Design Society, served in the Society’s Advisory Board and in the Board of Management. Since 2000 Christian is co-organiser of the annual Summer School on Engineering Design Research.

Please sign in to your account

This site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of our products and services, assist with our promotional and marketing efforts, and provide content from third parties. Privacy Policy.